deekhoo

There are just some things you can’t control. For everything else, there’s coffee.

Posted on: August 26, 2009

This week has pretty much revolved mainly around getting my PNR first draft done. While I initially began wanting to write my PNR on travel journalism, I explored greatly my passion for television and possibly working within a big network. This, I have to attribute, has been sparked quite largely by the Start Me Up seminar. Finding out how close these jobs that seemed so far away before, (like a dream or ambition you make up in your head when you’re say, 10), sometimes make it that much scarier to reach for and possibly grab. That said, I spent two days researching the XYZ network after listening to Carlos from last week’s seminar talk about their wide umbrella of channels -including the travel channel. After all that research, however, I have decided to head back to my initial drawing board and I will come back to my passion for television in time to come I’m sure. But I have to work on ONE thing at a time I reckon. And letting go of travel journalism is not a good way to uphold that. That decision made, I’ve started to go back to what I had before and have tried to get in contact with some people I worked with on a Japanese travel show a few years back. This way I could incorporate travel journalism with television. Also, I’ve looked at some local travel magazines and television shows. Taken note of some of the people involved and will shoot them e-mails to ask if it would be alright to interview them. A good person I reckon I can interview for the moment is Karen Trist. She’s already agreed to an interview to I’m excited. She’s teaching Intro to photography  at RMIT and I remember her talking about how she’s contributed to a number of travel books and magazines to I’m sure she’ll have a ton to share on the topic and hopefully give me some insight into how to get myself started up in that industry. Looking forward to the interview. I love traveling!! 😀

till next week…
-end-

Leave a comment

Time n tide wait for no dee.

August 2009
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My attempt to be organized

Pages